Great Barrier Island


    Home   |   Accommodation    |   Rates   |  Availability   |    Packages     |    Discount Offers    |   Location     |    Reviews  |    Contact 

Read what others have said about thier stay at Aotea Lodge





Reviewed 4 days ago 

My wife and me Enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights over the labour weekend. Clean, comfortable and decent. Like the garden where we can sit and enjoy the quiet surroundings. Location is excellent with easy access to the beach and restaurants. Fiona was a very helpful and hospitable host.

5 of 5 bubbles
Reviewed Oct 2016

The two of us were so lucky to stay at Fiona's place as she made it so easy for us to organize everything!
Thanks to her we made the most of our journey, she gave us a lot of insight information and we really enjoyed talking to her!
The cozy lodges are located close to Tryphena which is a beautiful little town with lots of friendly islanders. We would definitely stay there again!
Thanks for everything, Fiona!
M&T

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 2016

This was possibly our favourite trip yet. The island is truely one of the hidden and unspoilt gems New Zealand has to offer. The lodge was perfect with all facilities we required. Comfortable and clean, and very quaint, just wish we had more than just the four days. Friendliest host you could have, and was more than happy to help with suggestions for each day, it wouldn't have been the same without her. Will be booking another package deal through Aotea Lodge for our next vacation. Wouldn't change a thing!!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 June 2016

Fantastic experience. The Lodge was everything you needed for a great break. Peaceful, clean and tidy and great helpful hostess Fiona. Close to amenities and central to travel from for exploring the Island. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
 


   
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 March 2016

Great Barrier island is a wonderful experience, the people are friendly and there is plenty to explore . Our host at Aotea lodge was very helpful with suggestions for activities and eating out , it is a good balance of being available and giving one the freedom to explore .

Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel 

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 March 2016

Very comfortable unit with lovely surrounds and good bird life - Kereru, banded rails and Kaka all seen out the window. We booked a package through the information centre, with included rental car, accomodation, and flights and the price was good - info@greatbarrierisland.co.nz - probably the best way to do it. On a weekend where a lot of people didn't have cars because a local company was forced to stop trading, Fiona, the host at Aotea Lodge, made sure we had one. Great Barrier as a destination is fantastic but having the help of a local makes it easier and none could be more competent or helpful than Fiona.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 March 2016

Our stay at Aotea Lodge was great from our first contact with a query till the time we left. Fiona provided great customer service and our accommodation suited us perfectly. Convenient for getting around, but very quiet and peaceful.
The package deal of flights, car and accommodation is good value and reduces the hassle of planning.
I would recommend this Lodge to any visitor to Great Barrier!

Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 7 nights. The purpose of the trip is get away the city and stay somewhere quiet and beautiful. The lodge is very good, it is like a beach house, it built for holiday. There is kitchen in the apartment so you don't have to worry about going out the whole time as there are not many restaurants in the island.

Fiona - the owner is very nice, friendly and helpful. She helped us to arrange shuttle for pick up and drop off. Anything you ask for, she will figure something out for you. We were so glad we stayed there as that's the best location you can get in the island. 5 mins walk to dairy and souvenir shop and Irish pub which open 4pm everyday. And Wild Rose cafe which open for breakfast and lunch til 3pm everyday.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 December 2015

The lodge is very clean and neat!
It's surrounded beautiful nature.
It had ouside tables so we had meals there!
We lied on the grass on the garden and saw countless stars!
And location is good, too!
You can walk to store cafe and beach.
Especially, Fiona the owener is nice and kind!
She arranged our trip(flight and rental car) and lent some towels and toys for beach!
Her hospitality is perfect!
We really enjoyed such a beautiful Island and staying at Aotea lodge!

Stayed December 2015, travelled with family