Great Barrier Island


    Home   |   Accommodation    |   Rates   |  Availability   |    Packages     |    Discount Offers    |    Contact 
   Car Hire & Shuttles     |   Location     |    Reviews   

Testimonials

 

Great place to stay

Fiona arranged our flights, car rental and accommodation making it so easy to book a great holiday weekend within days of travelling. The room was cozy and tidy and close to restaurants and great nightlife as well as close to the airport and easy access to the best places to visit on the Barrier. Fiona was so friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend booking a stay at Aotea Lodge. Great price for a comfy place to stay.
 Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
 

Perfect place to stay

Located in a gorgeous area, close to everything, lovely clean, spacious accommodation. Fiona is a great host, friendly & goes out of her way to help you. If you are wanting somewhere comfortable to stay, this is it Even has cars to hire! Would highly recommend
Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family

 

A comfortable break

My wife and me Enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights over the labour weekend. Clean, comfortable and decent. Like the garden where we can sit and enjoy the quiet surroundings. Location is excellent with easy access to the beach and restaurants. Fiona was a very helpful and hospitable host.
Stayed: October 2016


Wonderful adventure!

The two of us were so lucky to stay at Fiona's place as she made it so easy for us to organize everything!
Thanks to her we made the most of our journey, she gave us a lot of insight information and we really enjoyed talking to her!
The cozy lodges are located close to Tryphena which is a beautiful little town with lots of friendly islanders. We would definitely stay there again!
Thanks for everything, Fiona!
M&T
Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends

 
Aotea Lodge, Great Barrier Island, review

This was possibly our favourite trip yet. The island is truely one of the hidden and unspoilt gems New Zealand has to offer. The lodge was perfect with all facilities we required. Comfortable and clean, and very quaint, just wish we had more than just the four days. Friendliest host you could have, and was more than happy to help with suggestions for each day, it wouldn't have been the same without her. Will be booking another package deal through Aotea Lodge for our next vacation. Wouldn't change a thing!!
Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple

 

Listen to the birds sing

Fantastic experience. The Lodge was everything you needed for a great break. Peaceful, clean and tidy and great helpful hostess Fiona. Close to amenities and central to travel from for exploring the Island. Well worth the trip.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

A great escape

Great Barrier island is a wonderful experience, the people are friendly and there is plenty to explore . Our host at Aotea lodge was very helpful with suggestions for activities and eating out , it is a good balance of being available and giving one the freedom to explore .
Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends

 

 Fantastic Experience

Very comfortable unit with lovely surrounds and good bird life - Kereru, banded rails and Kaka all seen out the window. We booked a package through the information centre, with included rental car, accomodation, and flights and the price was good - info@greatbarrierisland.co.nz - probably the best way to do it. On a weekend where a lot of people didn't have cars because a local company was forced to stop trading, Fiona, the host at Aotea Lodge, made sure we had one. Great Barrier as a destination is fantastic but having the help of a local makes it easier and none could be more competent or helpful than Fiona.
  Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family


Weekend Break

Our stay at Aotea Lodge was great from our first contact with a query till the time we left. Fiona provided great customer service and our accommodation suited us perfectly. Convenient for getting around, but very quiet and peaceful.
The package deal of flights, car and accommodation is good value and reduces the hassle of planning.
I would recommend this Lodge to any visitor to Great Barrier!
Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends

Amazing Lodge

We stayed there for 7 nights. The purpose of the trip is get away the city and stay somewhere quiet and beautiful. The lodge is very good, it is like a beach house, it built for holiday. There is kitchen in the apartment so you don't have to worry about going out the whole time as there are not many restaurants in the island.

Fiona - the owner is very nice, friendly and helpful. She helped us to arrange shuttle for pick up and drop off. Anything you ask for, she will figure something out for you. We were so glad we stayed there as that's the best location you can get in the island. 5 mins walk to dairy and souvenir shop and Irish pub which open 4pm everyday. And Wild Rose cafe which open for breakfast and lunch til 3pm everyday.
Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends


awesome lodge!

The lodge is very clean and neat!
It's surrounded beautiful nature.
It had outside tables so we had meals there!
We lied on the grass on the garden and saw countless stars!
And location is good, too!
You can walk to store cafe and beach.
Especially, Fiona the owner is nice and kind!
She arranged our trip(flight and rental car) and lent some towels and toys for beach!
Her hospitality is perfect!
We really enjoyed such a beautiful Island and staying at Aotea lodge!
Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family

 

Weekend Winter Getaway

This was a welcome break, mid winter, for hubby and I, and another couple. We got a package deal that included air flights, accommodation and a rental car for the time we were on the Island. We arrived at Aotea Lodge and settled in to spotlessly clean and tidy digs. Fiona, our host, was friendly and most accommodating with anything we needed. Although the weather was a little rainy and cold at times, for the most part, it was gorgeous. Especially enjoyed the bird life and rabbits playing around on the hill behind the lodge. All in all, a great stay and would definitely recommend and return.
Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends

 

Lovely setting, peaceful and relaxing

First weekend on Great Barrier and Fiona could not have been more obliging. Change of plans meant that 3 of us went for the weekend instead of the original two and Fiona worked this well with a good mattress on the floor.
We stayed in Unit 1 which does not have a large indoors area other than the bedrooms but has a lovely and large deck (actually two sides). Unit 2 looked like it would suit better for all round weather - if you had to stay inside but Unit 1 is more private than the others.
Fiona is very friendly and helpful who arranged our package including the air tickets with the rental car waiting at the airport for us. Aotea Lodge is handy to local restaurants.

Room Tip: Fiona will help with what you need as the units are very different and cater for different needs.
Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends

 

Aotea Lodge

We live in Auckland, and this was our first visit to Great Barrier Island. We had with us 2 visitors from England. We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were very favourably impressed by Aotea Lodge and the services provided by Fiona. She was most efficient and friendly, and organised our accommodation, car and plane trips.
Breakfast is not provided, so be sure to make your own arrangements.

Room Tip: Specify room with attached lounge with sofas
Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple

 

 Wonderful experience visiting great barrier, beautiful surroundings

We stayed as a couple at aotea lodge for 2 nights. Fiona was an excellent host and had planned everything for us including car hire and flights. We were upgraded free of charge as the more expensive unit was and available, which was a lovely touch. The lodge is in a lovely area, surrounded by beautiful plants and trees and although not on the sea front it is only a short walk away from tryphena beach. The unit itself was fully equipped with everything we needed for the stay and we cooked a couple of meals there. 

The island itself is absolutely beautiful with stunning scenery and deserted beaches. We had absolutely fantastic time and hopefully we will return one day!

         Stayed: October 2014

 

Aotealodge628, Owner at Aotea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Hi Sisi
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, the lodge has a great setting - close to the beach and other amenities, but at the same time, very quiet and private.
It was great to meet you and it was a real pleasure to have you stay.
Fiona - Aotea Lodge